Top 5 Things You Need To Know To File For a California Divorce

Top Orange County divorce lawyers; The Maggio Law Firm

1.  In California, there are only two legal reasons for ending a marriage: [1] “Irreconcilable Differences” or [2] incurable insanity. Irreconcilable differences means that no amount of marital counseling will save your marriage.

2.  California is a “no-fault” divorce state, meaning that you do not have to give the court any other reason for filing for divorce.   You are, in essence, suing for divorce and contrary to what you see on television, you do not have to “ask” for divorce.

3.  You must have lived in California for 6 months and for 3 months in the county where you file for divorce.

4.  Part of the initial paperwork filed for divorce is a Summons.  In a divorce case, the Summons includes automatic restraining orders preventing either spouse from concealing, selling or disposing of any property, changing any insurance policies or beneficiaries, or taking any children of the marriage out of the State of California without the  written consent of the other spouse.

5.  To personally serve the initial divorce paperwork, the party initiating the divorce cannot serve the paperwork, but anyone who is at least 18 years or older can or you can use a professional process server.  A minor investment of less than $100 well worth the money versus asking a family member or friend to do so.

For more information or for a consultation, contact Orange County Divorce Lawyer Gerald A. Maggio at The Maggio Law Firm, Inc. at www.maggiolawfirm.com or (949) 553-0304.

 
No Legal Advice Intended: This website includes information about legal issues and legal developments. Such materials are for informational purposes only and may not reflect the most current legal developments. These informational materials are not intended, and should not be taken, as legal advice on any particular set of facts or circumstances. You should contact an attorney for advice on specific legal problems. Full disclaimer.