How Quickly Can I Become Divorced in California?
California has a six-month “cooling-off” period prior to entry of a judgment in a marital dissolution case, meaning that a judgment terminating the marriage cannot be entered until at least 6 months after the date the other spouse was served with the petition for marital dissolution has passed. However, nothing happens automatically when the 6 month time period is reached, and the court does not automatically terminate the marriage after 6 months. Entry of a judgment requires either a formal Marital Settlement Agreement be entered into by the parties as part of a judgment package filed with the court, or otherwise by court orders made at trial.
For more information or to schedule a consultation, contact Orange County divorce attorney Gerald Maggio of The Maggio Law Firm, by visiting www.maggiolawfirm.com or calling (949) 553-0304.
Court proceedings are typically public record (including divorce proceedings). Unless divorce records are sealed, any legal filings in the proceeding will be public record, which means the public can easily…
To put it simply, a divorce signifies the end of a marriage. When a person files a divorce petition, he or she is done with all the legal responsibilities and…