When is My Orange County Divorce Final?
A California divorce cannot be ordered by the Court until at least 6 months after the other spouse was served with the initial Summons and Petition, i.e. a “cooling off” period that cannot be shortened or waived.
Moreover, nothing will happen after those 6 months in ending your marriage unless you and your spouse enter into a written judgment agreement or otherwise take the divorce to trial. In other words, a judgment can only happen with either an agreed-upon judgment or going to trial. Until that time, neither party can legally remarry.
In situations where the parties have not resolved all issues or one or both parties seek to be divorced in order to remarry, a party can seek a “bifurcation” of marital status, wherein the court terminates your status as a married couple but reserves jurisdiction over all other issues of the marriage until further agreement can be reached or the case goes to trial.
For more information or to schedule a consultation, contact Orange County divorce attorney Gerald Maggio of The Maggio Law Firm, by visiting www.maggiolawfirm.com or calling (949) 553-0304.
If you have questions about child custody in California, you are not alone. There are thousands of people with thousands of questions about child custody. But the most obvious and…
Any couple who goes through separation and divorce will tell you that the process is extremely stressful, overwhelming, painful, time-consuming and emotional for them. For many separating couples, it was…